Is Wonder Bread Vegan?

Is Wonder Bread Vegan? Why Not?

Is wonder bread vegan? Unfortunately, not. The Wonder Bread classic white contains many ingredients that are derived from animal-based products. These ingredients include Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate, lecithin and various glycerides. 

I know this is hard to digest because Wonder bread is so delicious and not something you want to miss out on. They are great for sandwiches and toast. 

So for vegans, finding a simple loaf of bread that is clean to your conscience can be pretty challenging. Previously, milk and whey were listed in the Wonder Bread list of ingredients, but neither is used now. 

But that does not make Wonder Bread vegan due to other ingredients that come from animal sources. 

is wonder bread vegan

There are many who have considered Wonder Bread vegan ever since they stopped using milk and whey. But some of their other ingredients come from doubtful sources. There is a possibility, however, that these ingredients would be vegan too. But there is no way to know for sure unless the manufacturers confirm this. 

Ingredients of Wonder Bread That are from Doubtful Sources.

Mono and Diglycerides– these can either be from plant or animal sources. It’s difficult to know unless you investigate the sources.

It can either be obtained from animal sources or from naturally sourced oils like sunflower, soybean, palm and more. 

Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate– again, these can be from either plant or animal sources. You can tell just by looking at the label. Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate is made from Stearic Acid. It’s used in many products to increase their shelf life. 

Lecithin– this, too, can be vegan or non-vegan. Animal-based lecithin is a common ingredient in most food products. It is used as an emulsifier which is widely used in baked goods. They can be derived from eggs or the organs of many animals. 

Vegan Lecithin can be derived from peanuts, corn and soybean. 

Enzymes– it’s likely that these products are non-vegan too. 

If Not Wonder Bread, Then What?

You might want to know what other safe and vegan-friendly bread alternatives you can have other than Wonder Bread. Most vegan-friendly bread is made from only using the four main ingredients of flour, water, salt and yeast. 

These types of bread are typically vegan.

  • Pita bread
  • Sourdough
  • Ezekiel
  • Ciabatta
  • Baguette
  • Focaccia
  • Kosher bread

Keep in mind that the less processed a type of bread is, the more likely it will be vegan-friendly. Or simply look for a brand that is certified Vegan. Some gluten-free and certified Vegan bread brands include Dave’s Killer Bread, Veganic Lentil grain bread, Food for Life, Nature’s Own, Rudi’s organic bakery and Eatsane Nuts and Seeds bread. 

So is wonder bread Vegan? Summary

Wonderbread is not certified vegan. Wonder bread does not contain milk and whey, but it contains many ingredients that are probably from animal-based sources. You can guarantee that the bread is vegan only if you can certify that these particular ingredients are taken only from plant-based sources. 

Also read: What really is Vegan Zaza Soy Pie?

*All pics are taken from

Leave a Comment

Scroll to Top